Present Tense

Chances…take as many as you need

    “We as human beings, I think cannot stand in judgement as to how many chances you get”—Oprah.chance

    Second chances.  We’re big on that in this country.  In fact, we tend to root for the fallen to make a comeback.  We love it so much that I think we knock people down to see if they can get back up.  But, there seems to be a rule that you can only have ONE second chance.  After that, you’re broken.

     I’m with Oprah.  I love second chances…and third chances…and fourth chances.  Because without them, I’d be nothing.  I’ve had a lot of second chances in my life; I’m a slow learner when it comes to appropriate and productive behavior.

      Thankfully, we all get an infinite number of do-overs, whether you realize it or not.  Every minute, every hour, every day.  Stop and start over; as many times as you need to. Granted, others may give up on us.  They may decide that we’ve run out of chances, but we really haven’t.  Maybe we’ve exhausted their benevolence, but we keep trudging on.  What else is there to do?

      We humans are a flawed, fussy and judgmental bunch.  We’re quick to exclaim ‘nobody’s perfect’ when we screw up, but then expect perfection in others.  Or ourselves.   Nobody’s perfect.  Not even close.

      In fact, I believe that the most successful people, no matter how you define success, are the ones that have started over the most.  They realize that life is full of second chances.  That we can start over again and again and again.  There is no set amount.  Oprah is right.

     Start taking chances.  As many as you need.

August 7, 2013 - Posted by | Musings | , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. I have started over too. I have early retired to travel and write. Now I am 10 months in and it is definitely still a work in progress.But amazing.

    Five years ago, I started by trying new things every day…some big…some small. But doing it gave me the courage to try bolder things and now, my life is very different than it was.

    I love your concept of do-overs….we can keep doing those until we die. Keep remaking your days to suit whatever makes you sing. What a concept!

    Comment by Kelly @Try New Things | August 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Kelly,
      Re-invention is always an option. We should all remember that!
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  2. One of my big messages to the young men I work with is that we are not attempting to create a perfect young man and none of us are perfect. You WILL make mistakes, but it is how you respond to those mistakes that will determine your fate. A mistake should not define nor crush you. What did you learn from it? I am grateful for second chances.

    Comment by Tim Lankerd | August 7, 2013 | Reply

    • Tim
      Exactly! We all make mistakes…over and over and over. Accept it and do better, right?
      Thanks. See you soon
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’m a perfectionist. I know this. I accept this. I try to change this. It’s much easier for me to give others second chances than it is myself. One thing I try to remember is something an ex said to me once – “It’s so hard to live with a perfectionist. You wonder if they are as hard on you as they are on themselves.” 😉 That has stuck with me for years. We are just as deserving of second chances as everyone else in our life.

    Comment by Sher Miller | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Sher,
      Exactly! Second, third, fourth…tenth chances:)
      Glad you took the time to write.
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  4. Love this, thank you.

    Comment by Suzette | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  5. Love this Jane….listening to you on the radio and some of your view points, you come across as being a hard ass, I like reading this side of you. I have had many chances in my life and it has made me who I am today and without my family giving me these chances I would be in a world of hurt. Thanks for letting us see a different side of you, or one I was not aware of.

    Comment by Pam | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Pam,
      Thanks. It’s funny because I think I left my “hard-ass” days behind me on the radio. I think that quite honestly, I’ve lost my edge, but if you still hear that, it’s fine:)
      The blog is a bit more personal for me than the radio show. Thanks for reading and commenting.
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  6. I am also in the place where I am starting over again in my life not my first of course but each time it does get better. Thanks for confirming it’s ok to have many chances.

    Comment by Marge Beem | August 9, 2013 | Reply

    • Marge,
      I think we get as many as we need. Miss you!
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 12, 2013 | Reply

  7. “Tomorrow is a new day” has never held more meaning for me. Thanks for this!
    Francesca

    Comment by Francesca Amari Sajtar | August 12, 2013 | Reply

    • My pleasure! Great to see you, by the way:)
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

