Present Tense

You are the light

snowfallWe woke up to a blanket of snow this morning and the snow is still falling. I just took a few minutes to gaze out the window. Early morning snowfall mutes or removes all color from the landscape.  Fresh snow is so peaceful.

Then, I turned on the news. God, the world is a mess, isn’t it? I’m pretty sure that statement has been uttered every day since the beginning of time, but since this is our time to inhabit the earth, this is our mess.

Violence, anger, hatred, oppression; the greatest hits of man’s inhumanity to his fellow travelers. If you think about all of it too much, you are likely to have reactions like anger and/or withdrawal. The worst is the feeling of impotence; that nothing you can do will matter.

I don’t believe that our reactions don’t matter. I believe that we can all throw out a little bit of light into the world and with enough light, we get enlightenment; an awakening of sorts.

I truly believe that the world is on the brink of a great spiritual revolution. Humans, by and large do not want to live in fear and anger and hatred. I think we are naturally drawn to love, beauty and compassion and that the vast majority of us practice those things. Watch the news and all you see is the bad stuff, so it seems as if the dark side is winning.

We have a choice, every single second of every single day regarding our feelings and what we toss out into the world. Many spiritual teachers call it “co-creation”, which means that we just need to tap into all of the positive vibes that surround us, in order to create the lives we want.

By the same token, we can tap into the negative and be a part of the darkness and chaos. I’ll admit it’s easier said than done, but we all have free will. Internal free will. That love and light and compassion and empathy is inside of us; in our hearts.

Of course life isn’t fair and events can make us angry and hurt, which leads to dysfunction, but that’s the human condition that we all experience. We can make a conscious choice to tap into that stream of the good stuff and reject the bad.

Jack Canfield distilled it down into a simple equation: E(event) + R(reaction)= O(outcome). Make it your mantra: E+R=O. How you react to life is instrumental in what you create.

So, we can rail against the messes in this world, but it all comes down to what are we putting out there? How are we contributing to more light, less darkness? Every second, of every day, we throw energy into the world. Give thanks, be kind, help a fellow human, love and nurture nature, try and see someone else’s point of view or as I like to say “walk a moon in their moccasins”.  Be gentle; don’t celebrate bitchiness and anger.

We can change the world; we’re all connected and my energy is your energy is their energy. Make your choices wisely. Send out light. You are very powerful.

November 25, 2014 - Posted by | Musings | , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. VERY well said!
    Now that you have a little more time, try to hunt down a copy of the film “Cloud Atlas”…Good stuff in that it talks about the interconnected nature of life itself.

    Mazel Tov, and I wish you the absolute best in your new phase of life. I am so glad that you are keeping your blog active!

    Comment by Philip | November 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Philip,
      Thanks. I’ll check it out!
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  2. Beautiful. Powerful. True.

    Comment by Elizabeth | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  3. Love, love LOVE this Jane! Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by Michelle B. | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  4. My Dad has had talks with me about: “Choose the blessings Mija. Everyday you have two things on the table before you everyday; Blessings and Cursing’s. Which one are YOU going to choose? I don’t know about you, but *I* want to choose the blessings. The rest can go to hell.”… That’s my Dad ya know? I’m so sharing this with him. Thank you for this…

    Comment by Adella Gonzalez | November 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Adella (Mija…I love that)
      Your dad is a wise man:) You’re very lucky. Thanks for the note.
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  5. Excellent insight, Jane. I used to be a news junky and faithfully watched the morning evening and late news to start and end my workday. I got fed up with feeling dread and being spoon fed a steady diet of fear. Once I quit watching, aside from keeping up with headlines on the internet,I began to really enjoy my world on my terms. I love diversity and learning about the fascinating differences of my neighbors and co-workers. The change we all want to see in the world begins from within. Someday our time will end. Life is short. Hate and anger are too heavy a burden. Peace to you on your journey and thanks for sharing your insight.

    Comment by Ted Lytle | November 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Ted,
      Former news junkie here, too. Ugh…I beg my husband to TURN IT OFF! It foments anger and misunderstandings and I have a journalism degree:) Thanks for the note. Peace to you as well.
      jane

      Comment by janelondon | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  6. Oh Jane, SOO true when you say “We have a choice, every single second of every single day regarding our feelings…”. This thought has changed my life. …..E(event) + R(reaction)= O(outcome). Thanks for sharing. Love your posts. Insightful.

    Comment by Barb | November 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Barb
      Best of luck and thank you for taking the time to write. Be well.
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  7. Jane, thank you. With all the bad news in our country and around the world, it is easy to forget all the kindness, beauty and love that surrounds us. I choose love, forgiveness, peace, compassion and happiness no matter what the circumstance. Thank you for reminding all of us that we do have a choice in how we participate in our own lives.

    Comment by Anna Marie Connor | November 25, 2014 | Reply

    • Anna,
      I’m a realist and a pragmatist, but I firmly believe that the good in our nature so outweighs that bad, but we need to remember to tap into it. So often, we lash out at other people in silly circumstances and I think that hurts us and them. I’m glad you took the time to write me a note.
      jane

      Comment by janelondon | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  8. This too shall pass. A period of time will pass and the buildings will be re-built, or not. The wounds will scar over the sadness, anger and frustration will dissipate. That is the reality. As bad as this is, and my daughter lives right on Highway 44 that was closed down by protesters, it will go back to a normal. What will we have learned? What images will stick in the minds of people, of the shop owners of St. Louis’s different neighborhoods? Does this response make them feel like they can trust the people in their neighborhood? Will this increase the already existent profiling that goes on daily? We all know the answers to these questions.
    I join you Jane. I went to work today and shined the light. I got my hands dirty and interacted and questioned and validated some young peoples feelings. I facilitated a parent group where we had mothers struggling that were asking for help, and received it from other mothers in the same position. Good is alive and relief exists. Things can stay the same, get worse or they can get better. Slowly like a trickling stream at first. Then faster and faster. Good breeds good, just as fast a bad does to bad. In the midst of chaos we can find peace and hope, if you choose to look hard enough.

    Comment by Tim Lankerd, Ann Arbor, Mi. | November 25, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

