Present Tense

Into the Fire

burningLast week, as I was fixing my morning coffee I looked out the window and saw my husband burning some brush in our fire pit. I had a pile of paperwork that I was planning to shred and decided to just toss them in the fire.

Once I got outside, I discovered that I had also grabbed a small notepad and as I tossed the papers into the fire I felt a tug of inspiration that urged me to make a list of things that I wanted to dispose of. Ya gotta burn it down, to allow it to rise up.

I finished my initial task and ran back into the house for a pen and a coffee refill. I grabbed one of our big, old heavy Adirondack chairs and hunkered down in front of the fire to spill it all out. These were things that I wanted to root out, look at in the light of day and then burn to ashes.

At the top of the page, I simply wrote “let go”. Here is my list:

Ego
Grief
Fear
Resentment
Rejection
Failure
Humiliation
Not fitting in
Control
Hatred
Frustration
Limitations
Conventional wisdom
Second guessing
Crusty, old beliefs
Overreaction
Panic
Cultural knots and entanglements
Behaving as you “should”
Material lust
Status seeking

This was stream of consciousness. Things that I felt were holding me back in some way. I didn’t over-think or take more than 10 minutes to compile the list. I then stood before the fire, read it aloud, asked for guidance from spirit and tossed it in to the fire.

Done. BAM! Burned.

I looked up and saw a big, beautiful hawk soaring overhead. I watched him for a few minutes and as he circled closer and closer, I thanked him for acknowledging my ceremony.

Ceremony and ritual are important parts of the human experience and in modern times, we often forget. There is no time or inclination any longer. Fewer and fewer of us attend church or any kind of spiritual gathering and we suffer for it.

There is something inside us, that has been there from the very beginning that craves connection with the Divine and we ignore it at our peril. I believe that is why we have such a callous attitude toward others and toward the Earth. We’ve lost touch with this spark, but we can make the time, even if it’s just us, all alone, to reignite it.

As I walked back to the house after my ‘cleansing’, I felt lighter, freer, empowered, calm, loved.  I’d taken just a little time and made a connection with not only my soul, but with what animates it. Spirit and energy and God and creator are all around us, at all times. Tap in. When you feel an urge, as I did, follow it. Be with yourself, create some minor rituals and try to develop a daily practice, even if it’s 5 minutes, to connect with the thing that is greater than you.

To listen to the audio of this blog:

August 16, 2015 - Posted by | Musings | , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Amen Jane! This is the second blog post I’ve read about this specific topic this morning. It’s as if the Divine has reassured me, personally, that the “building” is not as important as the “connection”. Over the summer my spiritual time is in my garden…it’s a place where I can be most myself and connect with my soul. I thank you for sharing this as I’ve been second guessing what I should be doing and where I should be spiritually. This post most definitely reassured me I was right where I needed to be. Have a beautiful Sunday.

    Comment by Michelle | August 16, 2015 | Reply

    • Michelle:
      My pleasure:) Hope your garden is better than mine this year! Personally, I’m heading out on the lake this morning.
      jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  2. Jane, so well written, as usual. Thank you for validating what many of us need to do but are afraid to do.

    Comment by Elizabeth | August 16, 2015 | Reply

    • Elizabeth:
      We need to quit carrying so many burdens from our past. Everyone makes a mess now and then, but we have to learn to let them go, rather than continue to define us or control us. Make that list and light it on fire!
      jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  3. What a GREAT entry. I am in the beginning phase of getting rid of material stuff that literally hides under the bed and inside drawers, stuff that I can’t easily see. Next will come the “feelings”.

    Comment by Debra Cochran | August 16, 2015 | Reply

    • Debra
      That’s such a great start. Have you read the book “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up”? I’m told it’s life changing for many. Look into before you ‘purge’.
      Jane

      Comment by janelondon | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  4. I’ve just been thinking about why I’m so crabby with some people lately. Read your post and realized that it’s my ego that’s getting in the way. I’m off to do a cleansing ritual . . . . Thanks Jane!

    Comment by Gina | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  5. Thanks Jane ! I read your post when I most need it. Good thing to do , purge and let it go and watch it burn up and turn to ash. I will do the same.

    Comment by Karen Binns | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  6. Love it, I start my day by casting the burden of..my daily list of things…on the Christ within and I go free. This ritual feels like it takes the weight off of me that I am carrying. Love your fire ceremony and that the beautiful hawk honored you with his presence and as a witness to letting go!

    Comment by Janene Fox | August 17, 2015 | Reply

  7. Hi Jane- So is it wrong that sharing your list actually made me feel better? You always seem to have it all together. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who feels all those insecurities.

    Thanks for sharing. Blessing to you.

    Comment by shellybelly12 | August 18, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

