Present Tense

On stillness…..

More stream of consciousness…bear with me as I oil up my writing chops again:)iss-39_pre-winter_storm_southwestern_australia_b

I’ve decided and it was reinforced during a reiki session, that I have to limit my news/internet/bullshit.  It’s causing me suffering and making me angry and agitated.  It’s also clouding my thinking.  I need cleanliness and clarity in my brain.

The election was a perfect example of allowing pollution into my third eye.  I KNEW that it didn’t matter who won and that my vote was inconsequential.  Turns out my intuition was correct because I did end up casting a ‘hold your nose’ vote for HRC and she lost.  HA!  If that’s not a reinforcement to listen to my guides, then I don’t know what is.

NOBODY thought she would lose.  NOBODY.  And yet, it was the fates slapping us down, blowing up conventional wisdom and within my soul and my deep knowing, I was correct.  I knew this was going to be a disruptive election. I felt it coming for a few years and I should have just walked my path and allowed.  But, I was influenced by the buzz, the spin, the hysteria surrounding this whole evolution.

I knew it and felt it months, no, years ago.  This is why I need to limit my consumption of this addictive brew of junk that is swirling.  It’s no difference than how I feed myself food:  No factory farmed meats, mostly organic, as local as possible.  I avoid toxins as best I can and yet, I allow them into my eyes, ears, psyche and heart.  What goes in, comes out and if we nourish ourselves properly, we are clean and clear and able to function optimally; physically, spiritually, emotionally.

During reiki this week, I was told by one of my spirit guides “Don’t underestimate the power of being still”.  Yes.  Stillness is where we find ourselves, our essence, our authentic soul/spirit.  There is no other way.  The constant drumbeat of media, internet, anger, outrage, with so much of it based on lies, is damaging to us.  Damaging to our collective psyche and energy.  We need space and silence and time to process the sensory stimulation of modern life.

When I was working, I had a very distinct and rigid routine every morning: wake up, brush teeth, let dogs out, get a cup of coffee, head to basement, prepare for morning radio show, 20 minutes of yoga, 20 minutes of meditation and GO!

I’ve lost that discipline and I miss it.  I have Saturn in Capricorn, so  a routine and even rigid boundaries around diet, exercise, discipline, even restriction, appeal to me.  My life is sloppy right now.  Not horrible, not tragic, but sloppy because I’m not doing what I need to do to function optimally and it’s like dragging a rock around.

But, that is me.  Everyone has to find that groove; the one that makes you feel like you’re powerful and lubricated and engaged. Maybe that’s playing music or painting or long walks or reading or cooking or just sitting with a beautifully fragrant candle.  It’s all about disconnecting with the chaos of modern life and re-connecting with the stillness within all of us.  It can be so hard to find.  But, it’s there.

We make life so much harder than it needs to be, by the stories we tell ourselves.  That old nemesis of awakening and enlightenment, The Human Condition is a tough one to wrangle into submission, eh?  Why have we allowed our lives to devolve into such an unnatural place?  Stillness will light the way out.

December 7, 2016 - Posted by | Musings | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Thank you Jane! You expressed EXCTLY how I’ve been feeling. Since my birthday a few weeks ago, I’ve taken the exact steps you mentioned in this post. Right now, it’s uncomfortable. However, in order to feel better and see things differently, comfort cannot play a part. Wishing you a very peaceful and productive day rom snowy Colorado.

    Comment by Michelle | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  2. Oh Jane that is just perfect! I lost my job last year and like you had a routine. Now I do not and feel lost. I read a lot take long walks but feel (society) that I don’t do much. This lets me know that all is good, just different.

    Comment by Kris Lee | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  3. Saturn in Capricorn, hee hee. Since Saturn rules Capricorn, that is a super strong beneficial position for your Saturn. I actually am a Capricorn, so completely understand the feeling when you have a routine and can feel that you are accomplishing things, or are at least disciplined. But you inspire me to get into a meditation routine again as well, because probably more than anyone we need to build stillness into our routines.

    Comment by Karen | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  4. Jane: As a listener to you in Denver the ENTIRE time you were here (yes, I am that old too), you hit the nail on the head yet again. As difficult as it may be, I have to remind myself to take a breath and “swipe” over while I am reading the news. As is the case right now, what we see/read/hear at 6am will most likely change by 6pm. I remind my teenage/young adult kids every day that we can only control how we react. Our family’s core values have not changed: Respect, love, humility, and an overall sense of humanity. We can never let others control what we know to be true. Blessings to you and prince charming every day.

    Comment by Pam | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  5. Ahh, the things we tell ourselves. “Stinkin Thinkin is what we call in my line of work and it has a lot to do with how we feel about us and our position. If we use it to make decisions, we make poor ones. Excuses, minimizations and rationalizations. We as humans can excuse some pretty horrible behaviors, especially toward one another. I think I will have another cup of coffee and just be still, thanks again my friend. T.

    Comment by Tim Lankerd | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  6. I love this! I too have also being feeling the pull to ‘stillness’. I’m working hard to make it a part of my routine. Your notes on stillness and the power of the mind reminds me of a quote that I have in my office that I look at everyday: “It all begins and ends in your mind. What you give power to, has power over you, only if you allow it.” Thank you and blessings to you!

    Comment by freckledandfairco | December 7, 2016 | Reply

  7. thank you. I think we need to watch the govt. instead of the govt watching us. But……….set a specific source of accurate information, and set a limited time. I think Colorado Public Radio is my source. Working on getting my life organized as you described. I have to. My sanity depends on it. I want to be a “good citizen” and I want to be responsible to my community. I also want to be sane. Sometimes one “goal” interferes with the other in our media saturated life. I cut off television and felt better. Now to add back in just enough media to meet my balanced life goals. Thank you Jane!

    Comment by Eva Fain | December 10, 2016 | Reply


Leave a comment